Doctrinal Statements

Ecumenical Creeds

The Apostles’ Creed, the Nicene Creed, and the Athanasian Creed date from the early centuries of the Christian church. Creeds, also called “symbols of faith,” are concise and authorized statements of the essential tenets of the faith based exclusively on the Bible. The believing community employs these creeds for testimony, instruction, and worship—including setting forth normative expressions of Christian truth and serving as the standard for theological inquiry. Although many kinds of creeds exist, the ecumenical creeds have the broadest recognition within the Christian church. They are called “ecumenical” because they have been approved and accepted by a large portion of the churches of Christendom.

Three Forms of Unity

The Three Forms of Unity is a collective name for several official statements of doctrine accepted by many Reformed churches, including the URCNA, as in full agreement with God’s Word.

Other Statements


Articles of Order

Our federation binds themselves in like-practice and government, as stipulated in this document.

URCNA Church Order, 8th Ed.


See also:

Why use Creeds & Confessions?